Nephew Muffins

DSC00184What do you do with a nephew who is allergic to nuts suddenly in his teenaged years? You can’t return them for cash at that point — the warranty has expired. I have tried adding millet before to muffins when I was on a millet kick, courtesy of my acupuncturist, and found the crunch very satisfying. To liven up these banana muffins which are mostly brown sugar, I threw in even more millet. Success! These were the moistest-ass muffins I have ever tasted. A big hit. I thought about calling them “Banana Upside Down Muffins” because they reminded me of pineapple upside down cake but they aren’t upside down. I can get literal when I’m baking.

Lyle, the guest cat

Lyle, the guest cat

Now if I could come up with a solution to my nephew’s supposed cat allergy, we could all be happy, especially the kitten we are sitting this summer for a friend.

Banana Brown Sugar Millet Moist Muffins

Ingredients:

One large or two small bananas, mashed and soaked overnight in…
1 cup Triple Sec or other booze
1 1/2 cups Bisquick (I used lowfat)
1 pinch sea salt
1 eggDSC00181
1/2 cup neutral tasting oil such as canola
3/4 cup uncooked millet
1 cup brown sugar plus more for topping
1 or 2 tablespoons cinnamon and white sugar for topping

Mash a banana or two all the way and soak in the tipple of your choice overnight.

Preheat your oven to 350.

Combine mashed banana and booze, oil, sugar and the egg. Add the pinch of salt and then the flour and millet. Be careful to fold the ingredients together — no over mixing or your muffins will be tough!

Oil and/or flour a muffin tin of your choice or use muffin papers.

Put a couple of tablespoons of batter in each cup. Mine didn’t rise much and I filled almost to the top. Sprinkle each raw muffin with more brown sugar and some cinnamon and white sugar mixture (you should have this on hand for emergency cinnamon toast anyway).

Bake for about 20 – 25 minutes until a toothpick to the center of the largest muffin comes out clean. I got a dozen muffins out of this batter but you miDSC00189ght do better. The brown sugar and the banana combine delightfully to create a caramelized muffin with big, moist crumbs. Try it and tell me if they remind you of upside down cake.

Printable recipe:

Banana Brown Sugar Millet Moist Muffins

 

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking with fruit, Bisquick, Breakfast, Muffins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nephew Muffins

  1. Nada says:

    Lyle’s glamor shot! I didn’t know millet was edible. I always fed it to my canary. The muffins sounds yummy,

  2. I’m pretty sure I have fed you millet before! You told me about the birds. They love it too. 🙂

  3. strawberryquicksand says:

    They look delish. Shame I’m on a diet. I’m really losing weight this time!!! lol. If it’s any consolation, I just discovered recently that I appear to be allergic to walnuts. That was after I strangled $14 on a big bag of them, so they are now festering in the cupboard as I can’t bring myself to throw them out.

  4. Crap about the walnuts! Maybe donate them to a shelter? I know that sounds ridiculous but I hate to throw food out too. Good luck with your diet. I find I gain weight whenever I deliberately try to diet. Upping the exercise works better for me.

  5. Liz says:

    How did you make the printable recipe although it didn’t work for me, I will try it on google chrome and see whether it works. I have never imagined millet in muffins, that’s a new one to me and I like new things, but where do I get the millet? I hope they tasted nice, however and thanks for sharing!!!

  6. I’m sorry the printable recipe didn’t work! It’s a PDF that is supposed to open in another browser window. I use Firefox but it might work on Chrome better…Millet is sold all over the Bay Area but it might be hard to find in the rest of the world. Maybe at the health food store? In order to make the printable recipe I save the recipe as a PDF and then insert it like a photo in “Add Media.” The muffins were so delicious and crunchy! The nephew loved them and so did everyone else!

Leave a Reply

