The Road to Hollywood is Paved with Burgers…

RoundschickenOK, so maybe it that’s just my road to Hollywood, but there are an awful lot of good burgers to be had in these parts. Since my arrival a week ago, I have eaten at the Counter, Burger Lounge, Rounds and Umami Burger.  The Rounds sandwich pictured here is actually their chicken sandwich (I had to mix it up a bit) and it was fantastic. I’m going to vote for Rounds for best in show because it was the least pretentious and most inexpensive, yet equally fresh and delicious.redvelvetwaffle

Lest you think I’m killing myself with beef, we also had the toasted pecan waffles at the Waffle. That is their famous red velvet waffle which looks pretty hideous to me, but I’m not judging because the toasted pecan waffle was smothered in candied pecans, with additional toasted pecans cooked right in the batter. Real maple syrup costs extra but at least they offer it.

Not far from the Waffle is the Walgreens thatwalgreens looks like this. They make their own sushi. Up to you if you want to trust Walgreens sushi. They have the usual drug store stuff displayed so neatly that the whole place looks like a really nice international duty free store or a European department store that also sells tampons and Doritos with their French perfumes.

Between meals, I realized that writing prose has messed with my ability to write for the screen. D’oh! Or maybe it’s just being away from LA too long. Though the distance probably does wonders for my cholesterol.

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Burgers, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Road to Hollywood is Paved with Burgers…

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Wow! That burger and those waffles look fantastic! Yes, there’s a lot to be said for fine dining when on a trip but, I gotta admit, a good burger is hard to beat. 🙂

  2. We fine dined a bit too…But not as much as burgers!!! That’s what I think LA does best. And fries!

  3. Nada says:

    Holy CRAP!!! I want a Rounds and want it now. I LOVE chicken sandwiches and that is a delicious looking one. I’d eat Walgreens sushi. I mean look at that place. I’d eat it off the floor it looks so clean.

  4. Sheryl says:

    Mmm, the waffle sounds delicious–even if it looks a little strange.

    • To be clear, I didn’t have that red velvet waffle, which frankly looks like the work of the devil. It was just way too dark to photograph the toasted pecan waffle. Delish!

  5. ruth says:

    usualyy I read for the recipes but this time I just laughed my way through the whole post. Thank you!

  6. Caroline says:

    They don’t have Walgreen’s like that in NOLA.

Leave a Reply

