Banana Layer Cake to Portland — Script to LA

HeBananalayercakeading to LA so it’s time to pull out the tooth-whitening kit and finish my script (yikes!). Both are painful but only the tooth kit will leave lingering sensitivity. I hope.

I don’t hate LA, in fact, I like it. I have great friends there and they have the best French fries on earth, but I will admit that the minute I step off the plane in Burbank (and you still do step off the plane there, and then walk down some metal stairs, and claim your luggage outside like it’s 1956!), my teeth suddenly seem dark brown to me. In addition to massive silicone everything and melted faces, everyone there has the whitest teeth. They glow. Therefore, the serious tooth-whitening kit which comes with the caveat that the goop you are marinating your teeth in can never “come in contact with your gums.” How is that possible?

21jumpstreetWhen I’m stuck on finishing a script (and I always am) it definitely helps to watch good movies. The latest one I viewed was 21 Jump Street with Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum. Is it art? Perhaps not, but unlike so many other silly TV-show rip-off movies ( A Team, I’m talking to you) this script took the time to create two main characters you actually care about. If you think back on all of the other super broad physical comedies you have watched, you will realize how rare this is. For me, it made all the difference in the world. I laughed at the situations and jokes, but it was the compelling story and characters that made it a fun movie and not just a series of goofy situations. My script has to be 1000 million times better than that because it’s not being written by Jonah Hill. No pressure or anything though…

Cupcake made to sample

Cupcake made to sample

One thing I know is that good? My banana layer cake. It was so tasty that I had to bake another one to send all the way to Oregon. I used a reusable cake dome from the Dollar Tree, freezer packs, and a ton of organic packing peanuts. Next time I will use plastic wrap like the lady at You Send Me told me to because the frosting took a walk. I have on good authority that it did remain, however, delicious.

 

Banana Layer Cake with Two Frostings

Printable recipe: Banana Layer Cake with Two Frostings.

Ingredients for cake:

2 cups flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup softened Earth Balance
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup mashed bananas in booze (I used two overripe bananas and Triple Sec — booze is optional but nice)
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Ingredients for frostings:

6 cups powdered sugar
8 tablespoons Earth Balance or butter
8 tablespoons liquid (I used lactose-free milk but you can use coconut or almond milk)
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 tablespoons vegan cream cheese substitute
1 cup walnut pieces

When I have old bananas that are too ripe to eat I always mash them in some type of alcohol and leave them overnight. In this case, I used a measuring cup so I could see that the mixture (with Triple Sec) came to one cup of liquified fruit. I put the cinnamon in with the fruit but you could also add it to the flour.bananalayers

Preheat your oven to 350. Grease and flour two baking rounds. I used 8″ ones but 9″ is a more normal size.

Cream the Earth Balance and sugar in a mixer. Add vanilla. Add the eggs, one at a time. Sift the dry ingredients together and then add them to the wet mixture in three parts, alternating with the bananas and ending with the flour. Beat till smooth but try not to overdue it.

Pour batter into your prepared cake pans evenly and bake for about 30 minutes until they look firm and golden brown and the tops spring back when you push them lightly with your finger. Cool on a rack for at least 5 minutes before attempting to remove from the pans to cool further. If you frost too soon, the frosting will just melt off the cake.

Wash your mixer because you will need it for the frostings. I’m not sure why this cake has two different frostings. I might have run out of something and substituted. That is the usual genesis of my recipes. For instance, the reason there are walnuts all around this cake is that the first time I made it the frosting looked messy and I was hiding it. Walnuts turned out to be the perfect note to balance the whole thing out.

Cream half the powdered sugar and Earth Balance with the faux cream cheese. Add one teaspoon vanilla and just enough liquid to make it frosting consistency. If you are unsure, try some and if it is too hard, add more liquid. Use this frosting for your bottom layer.

Put the top layer on and using the same mixer, add the rest of the ingredients and add liquid till you like the look of it. Frost the top and sides and pat walnuts along the sides with a hard plastic spatula. Can be served immediately but freezes nicely for months.

bananacakeleftovers

lastslicebananacakePhoto credit for final photos: Donna Carnegie

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking with fruit, Cake, Frosting, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Banana Layer Cake to Portland — Script to LA

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Break a leg. If you have time head to Atwater and stop by Proof for a fantastic hand-pulled espresso and superb baked items. (It’s my favorite. :D)

  2. H. Stern says:

    I just got diabetes looking at that photo. I hope you’re happy with yourself.

  3. I am! And I read all about one of the Jews in a box in Berlin in my New York Times this morning. The one in the article had hair (horns? We’ll never know…). I have to say, the more I hear about this, the more I love it.

  4. N.G. Davis says:

    I also thought 21 JUMP STREET was a major step up from similar movies. Have a great time in LA!

    • Thank you! I’m planning on it. Usually when I am in LA I fall down a lot (don’t know why — no drinking involved, the hot weather and flip flops make me clumsy) and my dog runs away. So the dog is NOT coming this time!!!!

  5. Nada says:

    “Freezes nicely for months.” Only for you. “Freezer Burn” is my middle name, or rather my two middle names, and always causes the IRS such problems this time of the year.

    • I think it may depend on your freezer. The basement behemoth keeps things intact for way longer than it probably should. In order to get freezer burn in there you have to wait YEARS. We have tried it!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    That is one fantastic looking cake. (The fact that banana cake is my favorite did not affect my judgement at all.)

  7. Caroline says:

    I just wanna say, “Yum.”

  8. Liz says:

    So you are becoming an expert at shipping cakes, did you actually ship it? Thank you for stopping by….

    • I used Fed Ex 2-day and other than lost frosting (or moved around), it seemed to work well. I thought it was pretty inexpensive too, considering! It was frozen in my Mom’s heavy duty, deep freeze for a few days before too. And in a cake dome from the Dollar Tree, surrounded by cold packs in bubble wrap and peanuts.

  9. Teeny Bikini says:

    Yay to you for your script. I am super attentive about my teeth – after neglecting them in college. An electric toothbrush really helps me to get the job done. I enjoyed 21 Jump Street. I think it was the first I saw Jonah Hill in a movie (I think?) I even remember watching the TV show – which I super duper loved as well when I was a wee girl. Have a great trip. “melted skin” – LOL. I guess it’s a good thing their teeth are super white. 🙂

    • I never brushed as a kid. Later, I refused to floss. Now, I’m trying to make up for lost time. I have TWO electric toothbrushes. I have three different kinds of toothpaste. I’ve been wimpy about the toothwhitening kit though. The part where it says not to let any touch your gums freaks me out. What will happen to my gums? What good are white teeth if I lose my gums? I can’t actually remember other movies I have seen Jonah Hill in except one with Marisa Tomei where he plays an unfunny role called “Cyrus.” Can you imagine a not-very-attractive fat female actor having a similar career? We are only now having a couple of fat comic actresses but they are super cute in the face.

      • Teeny Bikini says:

        Wow. Definitely right. They can’t be overweight and unattractive. So sad. But so true. I can only think of one example of a wildly successful zaftig actress right now… Melissa McCarthy – who I think it is le gorgeous and to a lesser-extent on the fame scale, Rebel Wilson, also quite attractive. And I LOVE my electric toothbrush – definitely worth every penny.

      • Also, I am really enjoying the Mindy Show because Mindy Kaling looks like a normal girl and a lot of humor is about what most of have to deal with on a daily basis — like an ex calling her on the phone and saying, “You sound pretty. Like you lost weight.”

  10. I was thinking of exactly those two actresses! They are both gorgeous and probably much smaller in real life. Video definitely makes everyone look like a pig! Film was more forgiving. Their success is a new thing though. Kathy Bates doesn’t really count. She’s super pretty too actually now that I think of it! I bought a vibrating electric toothbrush you can throw away at Target since I am in LA and the brush I brought tasted like vomit, oddly, since it was fresh from the package. Then, it turned out that the toothpaste was the culprit. Who was the genius who came up with vomit as a flavor for toothpaste?

  11. Liz says:

    Hey miss someone left you a message on my blog, re: Leek and Potato Soup. Where have you been? I have kinda missed you. Have a great weekend!

  12. I’ve been in LA — writing and not baking! 🙂 I will pop by your blog ASAP!!!! Thanks for the heads up.

  13. Lovely visuals and description to bake this double layered banana cake. Though you write it freezes for months, I remain unsure with so much of cream being used.

    Shakti

    • It’s not real cream! Earth Balance is my “butter” of choice. I think it really depends on your freezer. My Mom has a serious deep freeze that is awesome — never freezer burns.

  14. Pingback: Characters and Cupcakes | bakingnotwriting

Leave a Reply

