Tiny Bananas Make Delicious Muffins

minibananamuffinsI have whined in the past about how much tastier tiny bananas are than the big, bland Cavendish boys that we get in every store, everywhere. I’m lucky to live in a part of the world where you can sometimes find different varieties of banana — clearly not the cornucopia of banana types you get in the tropics — but a few different kinds. It’s tough to tell what variety the mini-bananas are. You hear finger bananas, baby bananas, and I found a forum called Bananas.org that says the truly tiny ones are called Muso or Sucrier.

banana-cooked-with-salted-fish-caribbean-recipe-300x225Why wee bananas? Well, the variety I used in the muffin below is not only sweeter (sucrier indeed!) than a big banana, the flavor was more subtle. If the brown bananas I used in my chocolate muffins tasted of raspberry, these babies had more of a vanilla or a honey flavor. They also have a better shelf life than the crappy Cavendish, becoming more flavorful as their skin gets brown. You go baby bananas!

Speaking of small things, since my attention span for writing is minimal these days. Wichita Sims, the fantastic Southern writer who sounds like a pool hustler, dragged me out to write in a public place, where all the distractions seemed to help me focus, ironically. I revamped big parts of the first draft of my script, hopefully deepening my characters by making some key scenes longer. Or was I just avoiding the dreaded second act? Make some muffins and decide for me.

Nutty Tiny Banana Muffins

tinybananamuffinsCU2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 pinch sea salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 cup Triple Sec
1 cup of tiny bananas, ripe and pulverized
3 eggs
1 cup of maple sugar (you can use brown sugar instead)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup pecans

This was (almost) a one bowl recipe and super easy and quick. I mashed my bananas and spices in the Triple Sec beforehand and left overnight.

The next day, preheat your oven to 350.

I mixed everything except the nuts in a big bowl with a spatula, trying not to over mix. Remember to measure your nuts in the measuring cup that held the flour and add them last. I used paper muffin cups because the muffins were gifts and muffins keep better in papers.Weemuffinbyorange

I use maple sugar because I like the flavor and I’m always interested in trying to give my baked goods a lower glycemic index. I flatter myself that this less heavy sugar also allowed the fruity flavor of the mini-bananas to shine through.

Bake about 10 – 15 minutes until a toothpick to the center comes out clean.

It yielded two dozen very small muffins. Here’s one near to a navel orange for reference!

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking with fruit, Lactose-free, Muffins, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tiny Bananas Make Delicious Muffins

  1. Teeny Bikini says:

    Honestly, who knew about the banana – thing? That’s good information. I just love your pictures. If I don’t take a sledgehammer and destroy my stupid house, I will consider making muffins the in magic flame box. You have inspired the lazy person in me. I did make them once, ions ago and they might be the only thing I have baked, which was edible. I consider that progress. Maybe that’s what I’ll do this spring… enjoy the garden and make yummy things 🙂

  2. Sheryl says:

    I love little bananas!. I seldom see them in the store, but buy them whenever I do.

Leave a Reply

