(Leftover) Turkey Pot Pie is a Snap

100_7847Don’t judge. The turkey may be (just) over a week old but it was so pickled in Marsala wine (I used the remainder of the bottle I bought to make vegan gravy!) that it was still moist and tasty today. I’m working on my crust-rolling skills and this was a good excuse. I also had a ball of Bisquick crust leftover from my earlier apple tart. I used that for the bottom crust and quickly threw together a Crisco crust for the top. Another reason this was a lazy, easy dish? I used frozen veg in the sauce.

100_7832I’m getting better at crust rolling, though I still find it sticky and difficult. It’s a work in progress.

Turkey Pot Pie (no dairy)

Ingredients for crust:

1 stick of Earth Balance or Crisco (chilled)
1 cup of flour plus extra for your rolling pin, hands, and surface
3 tablespoons of cold water (or more if the crust seems too dry)
A pinch of salt

Ingredients for the filling:

1 1/2 cups of cooked turkey or chicken — chopped bite-sized
2 tablespoons of Earth Balance
2 tablespoons of flour
1/2 cup of broth (I used the turkey soup that was made from the carcass)
1 cup cooked vegetables or frozen (I used peas and onions but wished I’d had carrots too)

Preheat your oven to 375.

Cut the chilled Earth Balance or Crisco into the flour and salt with a pastry cutter — or food processor if you are good with one, unlike me — until the mixture resembles sand. Add just enough cold water to allow you to form the dough into a ball with your floury hands. Divide the ball in half. Put flour on your rolling pin and roll out half the dough until it’s about 1/8 inch thick all around. Some of the techniques I learned from the video on my earlier blog about crust included changing the direction you roll in each time and avoiding rolling to the end to keep the crust from getting ragged edges.

Move your crust to a pie pan (the “pot” in the name is apparently because traditionally a crust was used to keep the pot from ruining the flavor of the filling, but you can’t believe everything you read on the Internet, right?).

Turkey pot pie fillingIn a saucepan, melt the rest of the Earth Balance and whisk in the flour until smooth. Add broth, vegetables, and turkey. Season as desired (I added white pepper and tarragon) and cook for a few minutes.

Roll out the other half of the crust for the top.

Pour the filling in the lined pie pan and put the other crust on top. Prick the top crust with a fork.100_7843

Bake for about 40 to 45 minutes. If the edges brown too fast, use foil or pie crust shields to protect the edges so you can finish baking the pie. Check after about 20 minutes of baking for this problem.

They also make silicon crust edge shields these days but I’m not a huge fan of silicon for baking things. I have an idea we have one of these at the bottom of one of the baking drawers though so I will test the silicon out next pie. This pie was really, really good. I have frozen the rest of it for when the nephews visit next month.

100_7849

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking with leftovers, Crisco, Lactose-free, Pie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

