Bisquick Quick Apple Tart

Here’s a crazy easy recipe that gets rid of my old apples and my overripe Meyer lemons at the same time. Plus, I was curious about making crust with Bisquick, now that I’m on a pie kick. I adapted Ina Garten’s French apple tart recipe and removed the sugar. Did I mention I’m also on a low-sugar kick? I was betting this tart would be pretty tasty without the added sugar, if possibly a tad breakfast-y. I can’t really say it’s low sugar per se, because the Heart Smart Bisquick includes both sugar and dextrose.

If you have cheap knives and no knife skills like me, you need kitchen tools. I used  an apple corer, mandolin slicer, and a pastry cutter for this recipe.

Bisquick Apple Tart (no lactose or dairy)

Ingredients:

2 or 3 medium sized apples (cored and sliced as thin as possible)
4 tablespoons of cinnamon
1/2 cup of fresh orange or Meyer lemon juice
1 cup of Bisquick
1 stick of Earth Balance (cold from the fridge)
3 tablespoons ice water
1/4 cup of maple syrup plus 2 teaspoons hot water for the glaze (optional)

Preheat your oven to 400.

Combine the Bisquick and Earth Balance with a pastry cutter or two forks until the mixture resembles sand. Add 3 tablespoons ice water and mix into a ball with your hands (coat them lightly with flour first). Press the ball of pastry (again, flour your hands) into a pie or tart pan until it’s even all over. (I know — I’m going to practice rolling out the next pie!)

Put the crust in the freezer while you prep your apples.

I washed and cored but did not peel my apples and I thought the peels made a pretty color contrast. Because my mandolin was set to the finest setting, the skin was barely there. You might want to peel the apples if you are slicing the apples by hand.

Layer the apple slices all over your chilly crust and pour the citrus juice over them. Add cinnamon (and sugar, if you must!).

Bake about 20 to 30 minutes until the crust is a nice brown. You can glaze the tart afterwards with a mixture of maple syrup and boiling water if you like. I did! Boy, this was a tasty tart. It was sort of like apple shortcake. A nice combo of tastes and textures — sour, sweet, crunchy, salty, fruity. I’m curious to see what it tastes like tomorrow after it has time to cool!

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking with fruit, Bisquick, Dairy-free, Fruit tart, Lactose-free, Pie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

