Vegan Mushroom “Gravy” Isn’t Just for Vegetarians

Once you get over feeling bloated from tonight, this gravy would be perfect to liven up your leftovers! I had never made a veggie gravy before, even though I have been having the same vegetarian at the holiday since she was eight years old. She’s thirty-one now, with an adorable tiny vegetarian of her own (plus meat-free husband), and I can’t believe it took me this long to make this recipe. I don’t like giblet gravy (pieces of organ meat anyone?) so it’s puzzling that I didn’t think of this ages ago. It was really delicious.

I based it on Martha Stewart’s recipe, but her stuff is always sort of overly complex and I hate that. If you have some good mushrooms, a cube of nice stock (I love me some Telma mushroom cubes), and a bottle of Marsala wine (only $4.99 at Safeway) you too can make a nice veggie gravy for the vegetarians in your life — which coincidentally is also tasty enough for carnivores.

Vegetarian Mushroom Faux Gravy

Ingredients:

1 lb. of assorted kinds of mushrooms, washed and chopped (I used some Baby Bellas and one Portabella cap)
2 medium shallots, chopped
2 cups of Marsala wine
Earth Balance and/0r olive oil
1 cube mushroom stock
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons maple syrup
Pinch of garlic powder
3 cups hot water

Early days yet

Melt a couple of tablespoons of Earth Balance in a big frying pan. Add a tablespoon of olive oil and heat together.

Sauté the chopped shallots and mushrooms forever, until they are falling to bits. Remove veggies from the pan and deglaze the pan with Marsala wine. Whisk in flour till smooth. Add broth cube, hot water, maple syrup, and garlic powder. Stir until your cube is dissolved and the gravy is thickening. At this point, if you have too many bits left in the pan, you can strain the gravy before you add the veggies back in. I did this and it eliminated any errant flour globs, for which I was truly thankful. The straining was my brother’s idea but he never reads my blog, so why am I bothering to mention him, the self-proclaimed “favorite” of my parents? It’s true too.

Also thankful for the 3-dog furry obstacle course that kept the floor clean

Add the shallots and mushrooms back into the gravy before serving. One of the recipes I read suggested the pieces of mushroom could “simulate giblets.” Gross, right? I just like mushrooms and can’t imagine throwing them away. Dried mushrooms would probably be great in this recipe too, once you have rehydrated them.

As you can see below, fake gravy looks pretty succulent, and the leftover Marsala wine came in handy when the turkey wasn’t as moist as one would have hoped. I basted the bird with the rest of the wine bottle and that turned out to be a good idea too.

About Emily Polsby

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Cooking with leftovers, Dairy-free, Holiday, Lactose-free, Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Mushroom “Gravy” Isn’t Just for Vegetarians

Leave a Reply

