Don’t Overthink the Pumpkin Cupcakes

I made a couple of dozen pumpkin vanilla cupcakes for a party tonight. My friend, who was having the party, instructed me not to “overthink the cupcakes.” Because she doesn’t know me very well! I wouldn’t have a baking blog if I didn’t overthink everything I bake.

In this case, the overthinking started when I searched for other peoples’ pumpkin cupcake recipes and found what sounded like recipes that could double for pumpkin muffins. “Pumpkin spice cupcakes with cream cheese frosting” sound like muffins to me. Normally, I dump pumpkin pie spice in everything, so for a change I decided not to use even cinnamon, even though the recipe was pumpkin-based. Cream cheese frosting screams carrot cake, and again, I didn’t want that earthy feeling at all because people, it’s a cupcake.

Another reason to overthink? I decided to use only maple syrup instead of sugar in the cupcakes because I like to use too much frosting. The other too sweet addition? Pumpkin candies on top from the Autumn candy corn mix.

I used an article from Mother Earth Living to convert to maple syrup from sugar.

Pumpkin Vanilla Cupcakes (lactose and refined sugar-free)

Ingredients:

1/2 stick of Earth Balance
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 egg
2 tablespoons Triple Sec (or use vanilla)
1/2 cup pumpkin purée

Preheat your oven to 350.

Put liners in your cupcake tin or grease and flour them. (I used liners because this was for a party.)

Mix the Earth Balance,  maple syrup and eggs with the Triple Sec.

Sift together the dry ingredients. Add them to the wet ingredients, alternating with the pumpkin and ending with the flour.

Once the mixture is smooth, fill the cupcake papers half way with the batter and bake about 20 minutes until a toothpick to the center comes out clean.

You will find my vanilla vegan frosting recipe here.

Frankly, I think the party was better than the cupcakes, but then, it was a very good party.

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cupcakes, Dairy-free, Dessert, Holiday baking, Lactose-free and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

