Nut Bread with Banana and Orange

A friend’s husband believes that banana bread is traditional for Thanksgiving. And who is to say it’s not where he comes from? Continuing my quest to bake more healthy things, here is an orange banana nut bread that owes more to scones than cakes. It has  a nice crunch and a light taste. I used maple syrup (Grade B only people!) because I’ve read it has a low glycemic index, meaning it metabolizes more slowly than refined sugar. Of course there’s some refined sugar in the Bisquick (I used lowfat in the white box) but that was it.

Nut Bread with Orange and Banana (low refined sugar)

Ingredients:

2 large bananas mashed (about 1 1/2 cups)
1/4 cup of Triple Sec or other orange-flavored booze
1 1/2 cups of Bisquick (I used lowfat)
A pinch of kosher salt
2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice or just cinnamon plus a couple teaspoons for the top
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1 egg
1/3 cup neutral oil like canola
1/8 cup fresh orange juice
1 cup of nuts (I used half walnuts and half pecan pieces)

Preheat oven to 350.

Mash up bananas with spices and Triple Sec.

Mix wet ingredients well and then use a big wire whisk to add the Bisquick. Wait and measure the nuts in the measuring cup you used for the Bisquick and add them last.

Flour and grease your bread tins and then pour batter in. Dust the tops with pumpkin pie spice.

Bake about 30 minutes until a toothpick to the center comes out clean (check after 20 if you are making muffins).

Yields four small or one normal-sized banana bread (or a dozen muffins!).

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking with fruit, Bisquick, Bread, Dairy-free, Lactose-free and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nut Bread with Banana and Orange

  1. Nada says:

    Bisquick is the miracle omnipresent ingredient in all things delicious. Wish bananas didn’t give me such a headache. they look scrumptious.

  2. I like the idea of dusting the tops with the spices…

  3. Delia Croghan says:

    This looks yummy! I usually use the Moosewood recipe but would like to try this.I read that grade B maple syrup also has more flavor than grade A But I have never seen grade B in the regular super market. Where do you get it?

    • Trader Joe’s often has grade B and they sell it at my local health food store, but a great way to go is to orer it online from small farms in Vermont. Their winters are disappearing so their livelihood is endangered! I can’t figure out how to paste the link here, but it’s on my blog post for caramel apples!

      Also, the Vermont Country Store carries it:
      http://www.vermontcountrystore.com
      My Dad was a fanatic about maple syrup. He didn’t believe you should eat Grade A. 🙂

  4. I would like to make the muffins, but not use Bisquick. Can I use flower and baking soda or powder?

    • Yes! You can totally substitute flour and baking soda (and/or) powder. Just use 1 1/2 cups of flour and a teaspoon or two of those guys. I am addicted to Bisquick, I know. I can no longer make good pancakes without it but you don’t need it for anything else — not really.

Leave a Reply

