Mushroom Barley Stew with Emmental Toasts

It’s still chilly out there at night (see photo above), in spite of our unnaturally dry winter weather. I had a bag of barley half used up and a packet of dried wood ears someone had given me which made me think of the warming properties of a vegetarian stew.

I served it with cheese toasts made with an aged Emmental that claims to be lactose-free. When hard cheeses age the lactose mostly (or entirely) disappears. I usually only buy cheeses that are older than a year — even though I have no idea if that truly makes a difference — but I find these strong tasting old cheeses delicious to boot.

Mushroom Barley Stew a la Chinoise

Ingredients:

1 cup pearl barley (well rinsed)
1/2 cup dried woodears (soaked in water overnight and chopped coarsely)
1 cup crimini or other brown mushrooms
1 cup chopped onions (I used super sweet cipollinis)
1 small zucchini or other green veg, sliced
1 clove of garlic, chopped
4 cups of vegetable broth or water and a cube of good stock (I used a Telma mushroom cube)
3 tablespoons soy sauce
Sesame oil

Chop all your veg and sauté the onion in sesame oil until it starts to wilt in a big soup pot. Sesame oil burns more quickly than olive oil, so pay attention. Add zucchini, then mushrooms, then garlic. Cook until the mushrooms are slightly reduced, being careful not to burn the garlic. Add the barley and coat in oil before deglazing the bottom of the pot with the soy sauce. Add the broth (or water and the soup cube) and simmer on a very low heat until completely absorbed, about one hour.

As an optional accompaniment, toast small slices of good bread (I used my favorite, Acme Walnut Levain) until lightly brown. Remove from toaster (or oven) and add thinly sliced lactose-free cheese such as Emmental or aged Gruyere to tops of toasts. Put toasts on a baking sheet in your toaster (or toaster oven) and bake until cheese is melted and bubbling.

Serve with lactose-free yogurt. Serves about four good eaters.

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Lactose-free, Stew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mushroom Barley Stew with Emmental Toasts

  1. volodya4 says:

    Sounds wonderful. Not dissimilar from a Kasha recipe I’ve used. If calories matter not, what about Sour Cream in lieu of Yogurt???? Just a fattening thought.

  2. ruth says:

    yum! a perfect winter veggie meal. and I love acme’s walnut bread too.

  3. Thanks! I think that’s my favorite kind of bread — although the Acme Walnut may be tied with a hot sour baguette from the Cheeseboard.

  4. Nada says:

    Oh my darling boy. He looks so cute in his snuggie. Can’t wait for his overnighter.

  5. Pingback: Making Vegetable Millet Soup | bakingnotwriting

Leave a Reply

