The (C)Hannukah Loaf

I know food bloggers are supposed to be full of holiday cheer and “I can use my glue gun to create the town of Bethlehem and put it under the tree with trains in 5 minutes flat” but I’m just not one of those people. Sorry. Yes, I have perfectly nice memories of Hannukahs past (and you can spell however you want, btw, Channukah, Hannuka, Pschancha — though no one would recognize that spelling) but I’m not a fan of the whole notion that I’m supposed to be full of anything at any particular time of year.

Gift-ready

But of course, I baked anyway, because I like to have a baked good to give as gifts.

Here’s the recipe I made up based on the fact that I had a container of aging, giant golden raisins.

Completely dairy-free this time around, in case you were counting, because I bought coconut milk for the renowned writer Wichita Sims to put in her tea. Listen to her (or read her) on KQED perspectives here, by the way. She sounds almost as crabby as I feel at this time of year.

Holiday Hannukah Pound Cake with Raisins and Nuts

Somebody's Channukah suit smells delicious!

Ingredients:

2 cups of flour
1 cup of Bisquick
3 teaspoons of cinnamon or Pumpkin Pie spice
3 cups of sugar
2 sticks of Earth Balance (room temperature)
6 eggs (room temperature)
3/4 cup of coconut or other “safe” milk
2 cups of walnuts and pecans or whatever nuts you have around
1 cup boozy raisins (see below)

Soak your raisins overnight in Triple Sec (orange flavored liquer) or any other sweet booze you have lying around. Alternatively, just soak them in cold water overnight or if they are very fresh, don’t bother. I think the reasoning behind soaking them is so they don’t burn and my boozy raisins burned anyway!

Preheat the oven to 350.

Grease and flour two normal-sized or 10 mini loaf pans.

Sift dry ingredients together, including spices. I only used Bisquick, by the way, because I ran out of flour at 2 cups so feel free to use all flour and add 2 teaspoons of baking powder. Reserve about a tablespoon of flour to sift through the nuts for later.

Cream the butter and sugar with a mixer (sorry, no hand mixing here) and add the eggs once butter and sugar are a smooth, creamy texture. Add the dry ingredients, alternating the coconut milk with the dry ingredients. Add the raisins and nuts last, after sifting the reserved flour through the nuts.

Divide the batter into your pans and bake about 25 to 30 minutes for small loaves and more like 40 minutes to an hour for larger. They are ready when a toothpick to the center comes out clean.

When you pull them out of the oven to put on a cooling rack, run a knife around the edges. Wait till the are completely cool to attempt to decant onto the cooling rack.


About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Bisquick, Bread, Dairy-free, Dessert, Holiday, Holiday baking, Lactose-free and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The (C)Hannukah Loaf

  1. Nada says:

    YUM!!! One of those loaves better be for me because if not, I’m going to go into uber crabby mode which is much worse than my normal crabby.

  2. You are not crabby. I exercised “poetic license” which is when writers lie, as you know. I saved you the biggest loaf of all.

  3. And that’s NOT a lie!

Leave a Reply

