Yes, I Said Schnittnuldeln

Don’t make me say it again.I didn’t know what they were when I bought them but I was taken with the picture of the pointing hen on the package. They came from Jon’s Market in LA. Not to be confused with Von’s, Jon’s is a grocery store that caters to local ethnic populations and in the case of Hollywood/Fairfax, that meant Russians, Ukrainians, and Armenians. They had literally hundreds of types of vodka for sale in there. And these weird noodles with the jiving chicken. I bought them originally for my mother, who didn’t want anything to do with them, which perhaps is the origination of the controversy I call “Egg-Noodle Gate.” But that’s another story.

I decided that these noodles had been falling out of my cupboard for far too long and needed to be cooked so I went on the Internets to learn how to prepare them. Long story short: pork. Every one of the recipes for these kind of German noodles included pork and the only pork I know how to cook (I am Jewish!) is bacon. No, I’m not recommending the drugstore bacon in the plastic package pictured here. Not recommending it at all. I also had some leftover peas from an earlier fish and tater tots night and a rapidly aging eggplant in the crisper. Peas make sense in this recipe which is reminiscent
of paglia and fieno, that Italian pasta dish that means “straw and hay” and involves pasta, grease, and peas, but the eggplant was purely because I wondered if eggplant cooked in bacon fat would be amazing. Of course, it was.

The other thing the German noodle recipes had in common that appealed to me was that they said to cook the noodles al dente and finish them in the pork fat. The final touch, to create a sauce, was supposed to be sour cream and some kind of cheese, but I was worried I’d have an infarction right at the table so I chickened out and just garnished with sour cream, instead of creating a sauce. In the future, I will cook the leftovers with a nice Green Valley Organics Lactose-Free yogurt to create a sauce.

Schnittnuldeln mit Bacon, Peas, and Eggplant

Ingredients:

Egg noodles (one package)
Half a pound of bacon
A small eggplant — sliced
Two cups of fresh peas or slightly defrosted frozen peas
Yogurt or lactose-free sour cream (about 2 cups)
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook your noodles and drain about 2 minutes before it says to on the package. They should be extremely al dente so you can finish them in the grease.

Cook the bacon in a big skillet. Drain on paper towels but don’t turn off the heat. You will now cook the eggplant in the bacon fat, careful not to burn it. Once eggplant has attained that nice caramelized brown look, remove that and drain on more paper towels.

Add your drained noodles to the bacon fat and cook with the peas, deglazing the bottom of the pan. Add salt and pepper to taste. Finish with the sour cream, cooking just enough to mix, or serve as pictured with a sour cream garnish. Remember to top each dish with bacon and eggplant. See your doctor regularly!

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Lactose-free, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

