Mini Vegan Cherry Tarts (Take Deux)

I had some complaints (comments?) from people who tasted my cherry tarts last time because I failed to elaborate on the crust. That was because I wasn’t happy with the crust. Although in awe of the baker whose blog I nicked the crust recipe from, I didn’t think I had done it right.

Or my skills weren’t up to hers. Here it is:

http://www.godmund.com/shortbread-pie-and-tart-crust-recipe.html

This time, I think I did a much better job of it so I will share my version below, with the wee alterations I used very successfully to create yet another set of tasty cherry tarts — although this time they are less ugly, if I do say so myself.

By the way, I partly blame the fiasco last time on these silicon baking cups. In retrospect, they were an unnecessary nuisance. One more strike against cooking with silicon (see yesterday’s Creamy Meyer Lemon Ice Pops).

Cute but skip the silicon

Vegan Cherry Tart (or Tarts)

Cherry Filling

Ingredients:

Ripe cherries, pitted, about 3 1/2 cups
1 cup of granulated sugar
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
The juice of a large, ripe Meyer lemon (strained — about 4 tablespoons)
1/8 cup cold water
1/8 cup cornstarch

Cook the cherries, sugar, juice and cinnamon for about 15 minutes at a low heat. Whisk the cornstarch into the cold water. Add to the cherries and cook until the mixture thickens. Cool before pouring into desired crust. Once your filling is cooling (or thawed — you can cook the cherries whenever you have too many ripe ones on hand and keep frozen till you are ready), make your crust.

Vegan Shortbread Crust

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (one stick) Earth Balance, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350.

Cut the butter into the sugar in a big bowl using a pastry cutter or two knives. I have a hard time doing this without a pastry cutter it turns out, so buy one or borrow your Mom’s! Once the sugar and Earth Balance are just a big mound of sand, add the other ingredients, kneading with your hands to create big clumps of dough.

Now you are ready to grease and flour whatever tart pan or muffin pans you are using. You can either make one full-sized tart or several smaller ones with this recipe. We made two minis and a medium this time, using two small ceramic bowls and a foil disposable tin. It’s important to grease and flour well though, because shortbread can be sticky.

Never cook without an assistant or you will be cleaning the floor for hours

Press the dough into the prepared pans until the bottom and sides are covered uniformly with about an 1/8 inch of dough. Ensure it is smooth.

Add filling to desired level and bake about 20 – 30 minutes until crust edges are golden brown.

Easy! And so good. The crust should caramelize and add a lovely, buttery (butter-free!) crunch to the sticky sweetness of the fruit. Nobody will believe they are vegan.

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Baking with fruit, Cherry recipes, Dairy-free, Diner food, Fruit tart, Lactose-free, Pie, Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mini Vegan Cherry Tarts (Take Deux)

  1. NTarnopolsky says:

    I believe you should add a tiny pinch of salt in both the cherries and the crust.

    Plus, the photo of your faithful assistant came out too dark to see; I’m sure his people will be in touch with your people.

    Loved the photographs of the finished tarts. Yum

  2. Dear NT,
    You will be able to see the photos when you get your new monitor! We didn’t use any salt this time around and I think this was the best tart yet…

  3. Nada says:

    This tart could win grand prize at the county fair. I have never ever eaten anything as delicious. Never. Ever.

  4. Thank you so much! It was a very good tart. I’m no good at rolling out crusts to make them look fancy, but I think this crust made up for it’s lack of razzle-dazzle by being strikingly tasty.

  5. Colin says:

    I made these last night – they were very tasty but I don’t think they need so much sugar. They are exorbitantly sweet with 2 cups of sugar total. I will reduce the amount in both the filling and crust next time I make it.

    • Colin —

      Thanks for the comment! The amount of sugar the cherries need will of course depend on how sweet the cherries were to begin with. As to the crust, I’m afraid my family and I are just sugar fiends! I agree that the crust would be fantastic with half the sugar. Let me know how it tastes with the sugar cut!

  6. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Brokeback Edition. « FOODTORUM

  7. Chris Love says:

    I’m sharing the link to your recipe on my blog today!!

Leave a Reply

