Creamy Lactose-free Meyer Lemon Ice Pops


You can’t say Popsicle because it’s a trademark but you can make a tasty frozen snack on a stick at home with the right recipe. If you remember the Legend of the Lemon Tree, you will know that summer at our house means lemons must be enjoyed and in large numbers before they rot.

I wanted to see if Meyer lemon juice and lactose-free milk would make a tasty Creamsicle-like (also trademark) treat and it really did. I think the secret was the pinch of sea salt we introduced. I used this recipe for fruit ice from the Joy of Cooking and modified it.

We started out with these ice molds made of silicon, which actually turned out to be lousy because the sticks came out. I had the same problem with my cheap ones from the Dollar Store so I’m obviously missing some key trick when I’m freezing the things. We had better luck with Dixie cups and sticks when we made Popsicles as kids.

The flavor was fantastic though — or delish-ish as my younger nephew would say.

Creamy Meyer Lemon Ice Pops

Ingredients:

1/2 cup fresh Meyer lemon juice
1 cup whole Lactaid milk or coconut milk
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
A pinch of sea salt
Tablespoon lemon zest (optional)

Squeeze your lemons, remembering to reserve one to zest, if desired. Strain the lemons with care. Pips aren’t delicious.

Heat the milk and whisk in the sugar briefly. Remove from heat and add the lemon juice, vanilla extract, salt, and zest. Blend well.

Pour into molds and freeze and enjoy.

Delish-ish!

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Frozen treats, Gluten-free, ice pops, Lactose-free, Vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Creamy Lactose-free Meyer Lemon Ice Pops

  1. Nada says:

    Delish-ish! My usual statement – save me one!

  2. You bet! They were fantastic.

  3. Pingback: Mini Vegan Cherry Tarts (Take Deux) | bakingnotwriting

  4. strawberryquicksand says:

    It sounds interesting. I’m surprised that the lemon didn’t curdle the milk. What is Meyer lemon juice? 🙂 I have Tupperware Ice Tups (frozen ice block makers) and they work a treat. We call them Ice Blocks in Australia, so don’t have to be concerned with the “popsicle” trademark coming down on our backs. lol

    • Ice blocks? Really? Kate says that big mean guys who ride motorcyles there are called “Bikey Gangs” which makes them sound like small children! Meyer lemons are crossed with tangerines so they are super sweet. It might be a California thing…Not sure. I don’t know why the lemon juice doesn’t curdle the milk. The sugar might help? Or stirring? I can’t remember! But it did work and they were delish!

      • strawberryquicksand says:

        Hahahah Bikie or biker lol. It does sound funny when you think about it. What do you call them over there? Meyer lemons sound yum! I love citrus.

      • Meyer lemons are the best, though I may be biased because I grew up with an awesome tree in our patio (see my post Legend of the Lemon Tree). We call the gentlemen on motorcycles Hell’s Angels.

      • strawberryquicksand says:

        Haha and here was me thinking that The Hells Angels were a specific group of bikies, kinda like the Bandidos or the Grey Nomads

      • They are — but we also tend to call ALL of the bikers Hell’s Angels, even though it’s not accurate. Like we call tissues Kleenex, even if someone else makes it. 🙂 I’m sure the actual Hell’s Angels hate it.

Leave a Reply

