Strawberry Cinnamon French Toast: Complicated Breakfasts Begin

When I was little, I apparently announced to my parents that when I was an adult, I would make myself “complicated breakfasts.” I have no idea what the origin of this idea was, but the truth is, I still like a complicated breakfast every now and then.

The dish pictured above, cinnamon French toast with a strawberry tofu sour cream topping, definitely qualifies, even though French toast, as far as I’m concerned, are pancakes’ slovenly cousin. French toast is just bread that has been briefly soaked in an egg/milk/sugar mixture. There’s virtually nothing to French toast and yet it presumes to appear on menus alongside the likes of more sophisticated, painful dishes such as waffles and crepes.

I’m almost ashamed to include this recipe here for that reason. French toast isn’t hard to make, but it is extremely satisfying to eat, and if you add a slightly complicated topping (I also like to sauté chopped apples with maple syrup or brown sugar — see my entry on the Beauty of Bisquick: Part 2), you can almost call it cooking.

Cinnamon French Toast with Strawberry Lactose-Free Sour Cream Topping

Ingredients:

2 eggs
1/4 cup milk (lactose-free, if you’re me)
1/2 cup lactose-free sour cream
3 or 4 (or more) large strawberries
4 tablespoons cinnamon
3 tablespoons sugar
2 pieces of soft bread (I used a whole wheat bread with nuts baked in it but you can use almost any kind of pre-sliced bread)
4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) Earth Balance

Heat the Earth Balance in a big, non-stick skillet. I don’t care if your skillet is non-stick, don’t skimp on the grease or your French toast will suffer! (I sound like I kidnapped it!)

Wisk your eggs with your milk till well blended and wisk in half of the cinnamon and sugar (reserving the rest for topping). Use a big enough shallow bowl that your bread can fit flat in there to be soaked. Soak your bread well but not until falling apart.

When the Earth Balance is melted and hot, lay the soaked slices of bread side by side in it. Cook until well browned and then flip and repeat. (How do you know if it’s well browned on the side that is next to the pan? It’s OK to peek.)

Cut up your strawberries and mix with most of remaining cinnamon and sugar and soy sour cream. (I reserved a tiny bit of cinnamon and sugar to sprinkle on at the last minute.)

When well cooked on both sides, remove French toast. (Unlike pancakes, French toast is tolerant. If one side didn’t get fully browned, it’s OK to flip it back and cook it some more. Do this. You don’t want to eat raw egg. )

Top with creamy strawberry mixture and serve.

See? I told you it was easy. And for some reason, strawberries are already in season here in California. For all I know they are growing them in pods, like Avatars, but I don’t care because they are sweet and tasty. Can strawberries scream? Is there anything awesomer than alliteration? Why isn’t awesomer a word? Enjoy your breakfast.

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Family recipes, French toast, Lactose-free and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Strawberry Cinnamon French Toast: Complicated Breakfasts Begin

  1. Nili says:

    Yum! I spent the last 20 years or so making overnight French toast that you bake (which is pretty wonderful and souffle-like) because my house was frequently filled with sleepover kids, but your recipe reminds me of the satisfaction of a childhood breakfast. When my kids visit for breakfast nowadays, they also will frequently request some good old French toast, as well. It’s a shared token of nostalgic taste, I guess!

    • My Mom has been making my nephews French toast pretty much every single morning that they visit (a month in the summer and two weeks at Christmas). It’s not until this year that one of them decided he didn’t want it anymore. It’s festive, without being a nuisance. Can I have your recipe for overnight French toast? That sounds awesome!

  2. Nada says:

    I’m a bit of a French Toast connoisseur, and this looks DELICIOUS! I want it, want it, want. And I do think they deserve to be with crepes because good french toast is an art! Oui.

    • We could have orange French toast tomorrow but I’m out of strawberries because I ate them all! Only on page 8 — Rubber key pad — and I want to go to 14 before bed. So the house will be a wreck tomorrow!

  3. Pingback: Holla for Challah French Toast | bakingnotwriting

Leave a Reply

