The Beauty of Bisquick: Part 2

Another awesome thing about pancake batter? If you make too much (which is easy to do when you live alone) you can toss the remains in the fridge in a container and if it gets too stiff after a day or two, add a little milk to loosen it back up before cooking.

This morning I did just that and accidentally made an enormous German-style pancake which reminded me of a pancake house that used to exist in New York City called the Royal Canadian Pancake House where the pancakes were so big, a little boy burst into tears when his order arrived! He must have been required to eat everything on his plate. I can’t blame him for freaking out. The food there was delicious, but daunting. If you ordered French Toast, they dipped an entire loaf of cinnamon bread in egg and fried it up for you!

Here is my recipe for a Day 2 enormous German pancake with maple apples:

German-style Giant Pancake with Maple Apples

Ingredients:

1 cup Bisquick (or the dry ingredients for pancakes if you don’t have it or are a stickler!)
1/2 cup milk (I use Lactose-free)
1 egg
Butter or Earth Balance for frying
1 apple (peeled is probably better but I didn’t bother)
About 1/4 cup  Grade B maple syrup from Vermont
1 or 2 tsp cinnamon to taste

NOTE: If you can’t find Vermont Grade B maple syrup locally, you can order it from L.L. Bean online 24 hours a day. New England maple syrup is one of those things that is disappearing from the world because of climate change, so eat it while you can get it.

Mix the Bisquick, milk, and egg by hand until blended (don’t worry if it isn’t perfectly smooth if you are using Bisquick — there is magic in the mix!)

Heat a couple tablespoons of shortening in good-sized (10 or 12″) no-stick fry pan but don’t be shy with the shortening — even though the pan is no-stick.

Once the shortening is melted and well-heated, pour the pancake batter into the pan.

While you are waiting for the pancake to have bubbles about half the size of dimes (which means it’s time to flip it), chop the apple into bite-sized pieces and discard the core and ends.

When the pancake has those substantial bubbles I mentioned above, flip it and cook for a few more minutes until the other side is brown and remove pancake to a plate near the stove to keep warm.

Put the apple pieces into the frying pan (add a bit more shortening if necessary) and fry quickly till the apples become a bit soft. Add cinnamon and maple syrup, stirring to coat apples, but being careful not to burn the mixture as any sugar burns very quickly. Cook until apples are as tender as you like them and pour over the pancake. Garnish with powdered sugar if desired (I didn’t, but it would have looked pretty).

The recipe above makes about 5 normal-sized pancakes, by the way. I used an apple in my fridge that was starting to get tired. I never throw apples away. When they are no longer crispy enough to eat raw, I try to cook them or bake with them since apples are such a baking friendly fruit! You can even just scoop out the insides, stuff them with raisins, nuts, brown sugar, etc., pour over a few ounces of orange juice, and bake in a shallow dish for a quick, easy, fat-free dessert.

R.I.P. Royal Canadian Pancake House! It was on the Upper West side, which means we must have really wanted to eat there, since all of my New York friends at the time lived on the Upper East side, in an area we called “The Zone,” and eating outside of “The Zone” was almost unheard of for us.

And one quick amendment to Bisquick Part 1: My mother’s mother only used mixes for Angel Food cake and matzoh balls. The Bundt cake was apparently of my own invention, but I probably used the Angel Food Cake mix rule to justify it.

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Bisquick, Pancakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Beauty of Bisquick: Part 2

  1. Bek says:

    How funny- just this evening I was begging my mom to make me pancakes for dinner, and disgusted that she only knew how to do it with Bisquick. However, my hungry, lazy, pregnant self finally agreed, Bisquick were better than no pancakes at all. And I was amazed at how good they were! But I still couldn’t eat the whole batch and we put the batter in the fridge for tomorrow. One bit of wisdom I will share, setting batter aside for half an hour before cooking, or overnight in the fridge, makes for fluffier pancakes. Definitely NOT an issue with the Bisquick, but for example during my many years as a vegan, with no eggs to fluff up my pancakes, there’s some chemical reaction with the gluten and baking powder, or something. Anyway, looking forward to the rest of the site!

    • Ha ha! Pancakes rule. I wish Royal Canadian Pancake House were still open so I could take you there. I bet everyone will think I am exaggerating but their food was HUGE! The pancakes were alarmingly big. It’s easy to make pancakes without Bisquick but so much yummier with for some reason! My Mom doesn’t use it and her pancakes can’t touch my engineered-by-science perfectly crunchy on the outside yet fluffy Bisquick ones. (She reads this blog but I bet she doesn’t know how to read the comments — or at least I hope she doesn’t!)

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Cinnamon French Toast: Complicated Breakfasts Begin | bakingnotwriting

  3. Pingback: Vegan Orange Walnut Muffins That Actually Taste Good | bakingnotwriting

  4. Pingback: Bisquick Banana Pancakes: Complicated Breakfasts Continued | bakingnotwriting

Leave a Reply

