My soon to be famous orange cake


Some have said this was the best orange cake they have ever had. I can’t judge that but I know that it was amazingly good and fulfilled exactly what I had in mind when I baked it.

I wanted to tell a story about each recipe but I can’t exactly remember why I made this cake to begin with — just that it turned out to be insanely delicious.

Orange Cake

Ingredients:

2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup butter, softened or Earth Balance
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon Triple Sec or Grand Marnier (optional)
3/4 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 350. You can either use two round 9″ pans or one 9 by 13 sheet cake pan. Butter and flour whichever you choose.

Cream sugar and shortening. Add eggs, one at a time and then vanilla and liqueur. Sift together dry ingredients and add in thirds, alternating with milk. Beat till smooth.

Bake about 30 minutes until top springs back. Cool on rack for 5 minutes before removing from pan to cool completely.

Orange Frosting

8 tablespoons softened butter or Earth Balance
1 teaspoon vanilla
6 cups powdered sugar
8 tablespoons orange juice
finely grated orange zest

Beat butter and vanilla until well blended. Add powdered sugar and beat till smooth. Use orange juice to make spreadable. Add zest to your taste.

I like to frost the first layer and then add the top layer and frost that too so there’s a lot of frosting in the middle too.

Did I mention that it’s delicious?

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My soon to be famous orange cake

  1. Tes says:

    This orange cake sounds really simple and seems yummy! I will try it some day soon πŸ™‚

    • I am the Queen of simple and yummy! I’m going to try to share more of my personal and family recipes, with some fun stories about them, every other day or so, so stop back by! –E. πŸ™‚

  2. Sherri Harding says:

    You are so talented!!! I’m definitely going to try this cake, it seems like one I might be able to make. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

