Pie

Le bedain logoLast year at this time I promised I would get really good at making pie and then pass along my wisdom.

Bad news.  I didn’t make that much pie. I did make enough so that I don’t feel nervous any more when I have to roll out a crust. It helps that I bought a long, wooden rolling pin, the kind Alain, the chef/owner of La Bedaine bakery recommended. French rolling pinThey are also called French rolling pins.

You’d be surprised what you can find at Ross for under $10. It was worth it. For some reason, dough doesn’t stick to the wooden rolling pin and it’s more conducive to less rolling rather than more and only going in one direction.

I found these really useful tips and excellent recipes on the Earth Balance website:

http://mjr.earthbalancenatural.com/ten-tips-for-pie-crust/prod-stick-vegan-buttery

The Earth Balance folks reminded me to chill the crust before baking for at least an hour. They also recommend chilling the pastry cutter which I think was overkill.

Another weird place I found great inspiration for my deep dish apple pie? The Crate and Barrel e-mail that was attempting to sell me stuff:

http://www.crateandbarrel.com/ThanksgivingPlanner

aside_CID_ND13_FrontCover_186x223Crate and Barrel included some tips from Cooks Illustrated, the magazine that advocates you dirty every single pot and pan in your kitchen and treat cooking like a difficult science experiment. I did appreciate their idea that I mixed pippins (hybrids of pectin-rich quinces) with red apples for sweetness.

So far I have made pecan pie with a press crust (the downside of rolling crust: flour all over my marble dining table), plus a double crust deep dish apple. Both pies came out super ugly but let’s face it, my heart’s not in it. Whose idea was it to stick (C)hannuka(h) and Thanksgiving together this year? Sure, it won’t happen again for 79,000 years. How does that help me this week?

About bakingnotwriting

I'm a writer who is always baking! Or a baker who is always writing...No. Other way around.
This entry was posted in Baking, Holiday baking, Lactose-free, Pie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pie

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Hang in there. You’ll get the hang of it. I spent one Fall trying to prefect an apple pie. I eventually did, gaining a few pounds in the process. Loved you comment about Cooks Illustrated. So true! :)

    • Update! Best apple pie EVER! And it was less ugly than I remembered. Now if I could just remember what I did when I baked it!!!!!

      • ChgoJohn says:

        Ha! I’ve been there. I don’t want to write things down while I’m preparing it because, after a failure or two, I don’t have faith. Then the dish turns out great and I’m left wondering how the heck did I do it. :)

      • I’m kicking myself for not taking notes while I was baking it. People raved! Ugh. I should know better than to bake without writing!!!!

Leave a Reply

